5th SES Conference held at Pearl Farm Resort

The 5th Social Ethics Society Conference was successfully held at Pearl Farm Resort in Samal Island, Davao, last October 30-31, 2015.

Fr. Dexter Veloso, SES president, during his Inspirational Message, highlighted the important work of the organization and its role in developing philosophical reflection in the region. He encouraged all participants to sustain their crucial work in order to better serve Philippine society.

Fr. Urbano Pardillo Jr., the dean of studies of the St. Francis Xavier College Seminary, which hosted the annual event, opened the conference that was attended by philosophy teachers, researchers, and scholars from the Visayas and Mindanao, inviting those in attendance to reflect on the spectacle of the dehumanization of work. 

The plenary speakers for this year are Dr. Jeffry Ocay of Silliman University, Dr. Ryan Urbano and Dr. Ruby Suazo of the University of San Carlos. The first set of paper presentors included Dr. Sherlito Sable of the University of Southeastern Philippines, Mr. Agus Majid and Mr. Wahyu Irawan of the Indonesian Consulate, Mr. Frans Nolasco and A/Prof. Ryan Maboloc of the Ateneo de Davao University.

The second set of paper presentors was composed Mr. Joharel Escobia of Urios University, Mr. Ismael Magadan of USC, Mr. Ruben Balotol of the Visayas State University, Mr. Jonas Robert Miranda and Mr. Judel Paredes of the Surigao State College of Technology, Mr. Christopher Von Legaspi of the Notre Dame of Kidapawan College, and Mr. Francis Jeus Ibanez of the Bohol Island State University.

The topics tackled during the conference focused on the philosophy of work in the margins as a response to globalization, migrant issues and labor trafficking, transnational crimes and global justice, recognition and solidarity, reflections on the philosophy of Paul Ricoeur, Hannah Arendt, Amartya Sen, and Thomas Pogge.

The following composed the Organizing Committee: Fr. Dexter Veloso, Conference Chair; Fr. Urbano Pardillo Jr., co-chair; Peter Paul Elicor, head, secretariat; Christopher Ryan Maboloc, head, scientific review committee; Maricar Juaneza and Joharel Escobia, registration and program.

Popular posts from this blog

Ateneo awards Radical Democracy research grant to Maboloc

Aldrin Quintero to succeed Fr. Veloso as SES President

(Updated) 7th SES Conference List of Papers accepted for Oral Presentation