Showing posts from October, 2017

Aldrin Quintero to succeed Fr. Veloso as SES President

Mr. Aldrin Quintero of the Notre Dame of Marbel University has been elected as president of the Social Ethics Society (2018-20). The election was held during the business meeting held at Pearl Farm Resort last October 27, 2017. He will succeed Fr. Dexter Veloso who served from 2015-17. The SES soared to new heights during Fr. Veloso's tenure that saw the organization hold three CHED-endorsed conferences.

The other officers who were elected include Mr. Joefer Maninang (UM) as Vice President, Mr. Wrendolf Juntilla (NDU) as secretary, Fr. Dexter Veloso (SFXCS) as treasurer, Mr. Jonas Miranda (SSCT) as auditor and Mr. Ian Clark Parcon (ADDU) as PIO. Dr. Sheldon Agaton, Fr. Urbano Pardillo Jr., and Mr. Peter Paul Elicor were elected as members of the Board of Directors. The SES was founded by Dr. Christopher Ryan Maboloc and the late Dr. Romulo Bautista in 2010.

7th SES Conference successfully concluded

The 7th Social Ethics Conference, with the theme "Political Philosophy in the Time of Terror," was successfully concluded last October 27, 2017 at Pearl Farm Resort. Dr. Zosimo Lee of the University of the Philippines gave the Keynote Lecture at the start of the two-day event.

Philosophy professors and young academics from the University of the Philippines, University of Santo Tomas, Silliman University, the University of San Carlos, Ateneo de Davao University, Notre Dame University, Bukidnon State University, the University of Mindanao, among others, attended the event.

Fr. Dexter Veloso, SES President, opened the conference. Dr. Godiva Eviota of MSU-Marawi and Dr. Emmanuel Fernando of the University of the Philippines delivered the plenary lectures. The conference was chaired by Dr. Christopher Ryan Maboloc. The St. Francis Xavier College Seminary, through Fr. Urbano Pardillo Jr., hosted the event.

The members of the organizing committee behind the 7th SES Philosophy Conf…